My Word new document looks different, with a big gap on top of the left hand ruler, how to revert to the normal version?

Liu, Didi 0 Reputation points
2026-08-25T09:24:57.5566667+00:00

My Word new document looks different, with a big gap on top of the left hand ruler, how to revert to the normal version?

Microsoft 365 and Office | Word | For business | Windows
0 comments No comments

3 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Stefan Blom 354.1K Reputation points MVP Volunteer Moderator
    2026-08-25T09:31:40.32+00:00

    The first step is to ensure that your document is displayed in Print Layout view. You can click Print Layout on the View tab. See the screen shot below.

    User's image

      

    Could you elaborate on where you are seeing the undesired space?

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments

  2. Charles Kenyon 171.3K Reputation points Volunteer Moderator
    2026-08-26T21:27:04.6933333+00:00

    If you have a large space at the top of your screen, you may be displaying "white space." Word tries to approximate how the page will look when printed. Headers and footers are also displayed when this option is chosen. This is the default view.

    As Stefan noted, you need to be in Print View to be seeing this. If you are in Draft View you will not see it.

    You can uncheck this in File > Options > Display

    User's image

    Resources:

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments

  3. AI answer

    2026-08-25T09:25:12.6966667+00:00

    This is usually the page white space or margin display being hidden in Print Layout view.

    Try these steps in Word on Windows:

    1. Move the pointer to the top edge of the page until it becomes a double-pointed arrow.
    2. Double-click to show the white space at the top and bottom of the page again.

    If that does not fix it:

    1. Go to File > Options > Display.
    2. Turn on Show white space between pages in Print Layout view.
    3. Make sure the document is in Print Layout view.

    If the ruler itself is missing:

    1. Go to View.
    2. Select Ruler.

    If the vertical ruler needs to be shown:

    1. Go to File > Options > Advanced.
    2. Under Display, select Show vertical ruler in Print Layout view.

    References:

    AI-generated content may be incorrect. Read our transparency notes for more information.

    Was this answer helpful?

Your answer

Answers can be marked as 'Accepted' by the question author and 'Recommended' by moderators, which helps users know the answer solved the author's problem.