Drafts

Drafts is a feature available on Microsoft Q&A that saves your in-progress thread (question, answer, comment, or site feedback) every few seconds, as you work. Drafts helps reduce the risk of data loss in case of inadvertently moving away from the input screen before submission or a submission error is encountered.

Key functionality

  • It stores one draft for each content type.
  • It is based on client-side browser capabilities and user session.
  • The following fields are autosaved: - Title, Body, Tags for questions and site feedback. - Body for answers and comments.

New questions or site feedback

When you begin to create a new question or site feedback and do not complete the post process, the content is autosaved. If you, on the same browser and within the same session, start to create the same type of content, you see a dialog with the option to re-load the saved content.

Note

This option is not shown if you try to create the same content type on a different browser or your session has expired.

Screenshot of question previous version dialog, which shows options to Load or Discard.

  • Clicking on Load brings your previously entered content back so you can resume your work.
  • Clicking on Discard does not load the drafted content. Your draft is also removed and you won’t be able to load it again.
  • Clicking on the top "x" on the dialog, cancels the action. It does not load the draft and it is still available for further use.

New answers or comments

When you begin to create an answer or comment, and do not complete the posting process, the Drafts feature is aware of the node that the answer or comment is linked to (question or site feedback for answers; or question, site feedback, or answer for comments). If you, in the same browser and within the same session, start to create the same type of content under the same primary node, you will see an option to re-load the saved content.

Note

This option is not shown if you try to create the same content type on a different browser or your session has expired.

Previous version modal for comments

  • Clicking on Load brings your content back so you can resume your work.
  • Clicking on Discard does not load the draft content. Your draft is also removed and you won’t be able to load it again.
  • Clicking on the top "x" on the dialog, cancels the action. It does not load the draft and it is still available for further use.

Note

If you leave the thread and then start answering or commenting on a different thread, you won’t see the option to re-load saved content because you are in a different thread. Additionally, you will lose the previously saved draft answer or comment.

Editing questions or site feedback

You must start editing the same piece of content again to be presented with the option to load the draft content. If you edit a question or site feedback and click away and then come back to the content, the autosave dialog is not prompted until you edit the content.

Screenshot of question previous version dialog, which is showing options to Load or Discard.

  • Clicking on Load brings your content back so you can resume your work.
  • Clicking on Discard does not load the draft content. Your draft is also removed and you won’t be able to load it again.
  • Clicking on the top "x" on the dialog, cancels the action. It does not load the draft and it is still available for further use.

Important

Remember we only save one draft per content type. So, if you try to post a new question, feedback, or comment, you will lose the previously saved draft for that content type.

Editing answers or comments

If you edit an answer or comment and click away and then come back to the content, the autosave dialog is prompted when the question or site feedback page the answer or comment belongs to reloads.

Screenshot of question previous version dialog, which shows the options to Load or Discard.

  • Clicking on Load brings your content back so you can resume your work.
  • Clicking on Discard does not load the draft content. Your draft is also removed and you won’t be able to load it again.
  • Clicking on the top "x" on the dialog, cancels the action. It does not load the draft and it is still available for further use.

Important

The Drafts prompt for an answer or comment will not be displayed if you start to create a new answer or comment or edit an existing comment or answer elsewhere (on a different primary node). You will also lose your draft answer or comment, as it only stores one type of each content type.

Other important notes

Since the Drafts implementation is browser and session dependent, this is what you can expect on the following cases.

  • Using Different browsers. If you use two different browsers in Microsoft Q&A (for example Edge and Chrome), the draft content that you see is the one saved on that browser. It is not synched across different browsers.
  • If you use InPrivate or Incognito sessions, once you close the tab in your browser, you will lose any drafts saved during that session.
  • Clearing your browser’s cache will remove any drafts saved in your browser.
  • You will lose your saved drafts after an idle session. When you try to submit the draft content without refreshing the page, you will get an "Unable to execute request" error and your draft will be lost. If you try to refresh the page before posting, the draft will be removed.
  • Two accounts used on the same browser. Current functionality does not support storing of saved content for multiple users in a browser. As a result, if content is created and the session is terminated before it is published by the user clicking away and logging out, and then another user account signs in on the same browser, the second user will see the option to load the autosaved content from the other user.