<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="https://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:sy="https://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/" xmlns:dc="https://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:content="https://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/" xmlns:wfw="https://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/" xmlns:slash="https://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
  version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Pallav</title>
    <atom:link
      href="https://docs.microsoft.com/archive/blogs/pallavs/feed.xml"
      rel="self"
      type="application/rss+xml" />
    <link>https://docs.microsoft.com/archive/blogs/pallavs/feed.xml</link>
    <description>~vogue la galère~</description>
    <lastBuildDate>Wed, 17 Apr 2019 03:50:21 GMT</lastBuildDate>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
    <sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
    <item>
      <title>Building OWA URL for Archieve Item -Exchange 2010</title>
      <link>https://docs.microsoft.com/archive/blogs/pallavs/building-owa-url-for-archieve-item-exchange-2010</link>
      <pubDate>Mon, 08 Oct 2012 07:31:00 GMT</pubDate>
      <dc:creator><![CDATA[Pallav Sharma]]></dc:creator>
      <guid
        isPermaLink="false">https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/pallavs/2012/10/08/building-owa-url-for-archieve-item-exchange-2010/</guid>
      <description><![CDATA[One of my customer was trying to construct OWA url for archive emails in Exchange 2010. Initially...]]></description>
      <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>One of my customer was trying to construct OWA url for archive emails in Exchange 2010. Initially even I didn&rsquo;t know how to construct, so I started playing around with the URL. I created archive mailbox and observed the URL when I browse in OWA.<br /><br />The URL looked like following:</p>
<p><span style="color: #0000ff;"><a href="https://pallav-exchange/owa/?ae=Item&amp;a=Open&amp;t=IPM.Note&amp;id=AMB.RgAAAAAsuyof%2b2qASKYsEw5tZVMLBwCv6rwEn4EDSqL29YcZQoW2AAAAeYgDAACv6rwEn4EDSqL29YcZQoW2AAAAeYhYAAAA.L289Rmlyc3QgT3JnYW5pemF0aW9uL291PUV4Y2hhbmdlIEFkbWluaXN0cmF0aXZlIEdyb3VwIChGWURJQk9IRjIzU1BETFQpL2NuPVJlY2lwaWVudHMvY249UGFsbGF2IFNoYXJtYTdhOS9ndWlkPTRmYjBiNzBlLTdhMWMtNGNlZS05ZjRlLTRmOWM1OGUzMDYxMQ%3d%3d&amp;pspid=_1342538626888_576913107"><span style="color: #0000ff;">https://pallav-exchange/owa/?ae=Item&amp;a=Open&amp;t=IPM.Note&amp;id=AMB.RgAAAAAsuyof%2b2qASKYsEw5tZVMLBwCv6rwEn4EDSqL29YcZQoW2AAAAeYgDAACv6rwEn4EDSqL29YcZQoW2AAAAeYhYAAAA.L289Rmlyc3QgT3JnYW5pemF0aW9uL291PUV4Y2hhbmdlIEFkbWluaXN0cmF0aXZlIEdyb3VwIChGWURJQk9IRjIzU1BETFQpL2NuPVJlY2lwaWVudHMvY249UGFsbGF2IFNoYXJtYTdhOS9ndWlkPTRmYjBiNzBlLTdhMWMtNGNlZS05ZjRlLTRmOWM1OGUzMDYxMQ%3d%3d&amp;pspid=_1342538626888_576913107</span></a></span><br /><br />OOPS! How do I construct this? I browse through several archive mail item and found a pattern.<br /><br /><strong>First Part of the URL is constant for mail Items</strong><br /><br /><strong>This is constant ==&gt; <a href="https://pallav-exchange/owa/?ae=Item&amp;a=Open&amp;t=IPM.Note&amp;id">https://pallav-exchange/owa/?ae=Item&amp;a=Open&amp;t=IPM.Note&amp;id</a></strong><br /><br />Now the changing part is the <b>value of id parameter</b>, which has three parts separated by .(dot)<br /><br /><b>Part 1:<br /></b>AMB<b><br /><br />Part 2:<br /></b>gAAAAAsuyof%2b2qASKYsEw5tZVMLBwCv6rwEn4EDSqL29YcZQoW2AAAAeYgDAACv6rwEn4EDSqL29YcZQoW2AAAAeYhYAAAA<br /><b><br />Part 3:<br /></b>L289Rmlyc3QgT3JnYW5pemF0aW9uL291PUV4Y2hhbmdlIEFkbWluaXN0cmF0aXZlIEdyb3VwIChGWURJQk9IRjIzU1BETFQpL2NuPVJlY2lwaWVudHMvY249UGFsbGF2IFNoYXJtYTdhOS9ndWlkPTRmYjBiNzBlLTdhMWMtNGNlZS05ZjRlLTRmOWM1OGUzMDYxMQ%3d%3d<br /><b><br /><br />Explanation:</b></p>
<p><strong>Part 1:</strong> <br />It is pretty simple, AMB indicates Archive Mail Box, so just prefix.<br /><br /><strong>Part 2:</strong><br /> It is OWA ID of the item. When you get an Item from EWS, it gives you EWS Id of the Item; you can use &ldquo;<b>ConvertID</b>&rdquo; method of EWS to convert EWSID to OWA ID.<br /><br /><strong>Part 3:</strong> <br />It is Legacy DN with Mailbox GUID, converted to Base64 string, decoding this will give you <br /><br />&ldquo;<b>/o=FirstOrganization/ou=Exchange Administrative Group(FYDIBOHF23SPDLT)/cn=Recipients/cn=PallavSharma7a9/guid=4fb0b70e-7a1c-4cee-9f4e-4f9c58e30611</b>&rdquo;<br /><br /><br />So Archieve MailBox URL = <strong>AMB.OWAID.Legacy DN with Mailbox GUID(Converted to base64 string)&nbsp;</strong><br /><br />So you can construct URL for archived mail box item with above technique. <br /><br /><b>Above information is based on my research and there is no documentation on this URL format</b>.</p>]]></content:encoded>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Excel is showing up the "save as" dialogue in background when custom add-in is enabled in Outlook 2010</title>
      <link>https://docs.microsoft.com/archive/blogs/pallavs/excel-is-showing-up-the-save-as-dialogue-in-background-when-custom-add-in-is-enabled-in-outlook-2010</link>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 May 2012 08:20:00 GMT</pubDate>
      <dc:creator><![CDATA[Pallav Sharma]]></dc:creator>
      <guid
        isPermaLink="false">https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/pallavs/2012/05/24/excel-is-showing-up-the-save-as-dialogue-in-background-when-custom-add-in-is-enabled-in-outlook-2010/</guid>
      <description><![CDATA[Excel is showing up the "save as" dialogue in background when custom add-in is enabled in Outlook...]]></description>
      <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><b>Excel is showing up the "save as" dialogue in background when custom add-in is enabled in Outlook 2010</b></p>
<p>My First question to add-in developer would be, is there any Ribbon designed using Visual Designer in your Add-in?<br />Said, &ldquo;<b>Yes</b>&rdquo;<b>?</b> <b>Read More&hellip;</b><br /><br />Visual Designer has issues associated with Outlook. It also causes the ghost Inspector issue.<br /><br /><strong>Following is the steps to Repro:</strong></p>
<ul>
<li>Create a Outlook2010 Add-in project using VS 2010</li>
<li>Add a ribbon designer in project (Project&gt;Add New Item)</li>
<li>Run the Application</li>
<li>When Outlook Opens, verify that Add-in is loaded (Files&gt;Options&gt;Add-in)</li>
<li>Open Excel</li>
<li>Type "Test"(Dummy text) in any cell and go to File &gt;Save &amp;Send&nbsp; &gt;Send Using Email &gt;Send As Attachment</li>
<li>Outlook Inspector window opens up with attached excel file</li>
<li>Send it to yourself</li>
<li>Go back to Excel</li>
<li>File&gt;Save As</li>
<li>Save As dialogue box goes in background and does not appear even after using ALT+TAB key</li>
</ul>
<p><b>Solution: </b><br />There are issues with Visual Designer while designing Ribbon in Outlook. <strong>Use &ldquo;Ribbon.Xml&rdquo; to avoid this issue.</strong><br /><br /><b>Ribbon Overview(This gives detail on Ribbon Designer and Ribbon XML)</b><br /><span style="color: #0000ff;"><a href="https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb386097"><span style="color: #0000ff;">https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb386097</span></a><br /><br /><strong><span style="color: #000000;">How to: Export a Ribbon from the Ribbon Designer to Ribbon XML</span></strong><br /></span><span style="color: #0000ff;"><a href="https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb386297"><span style="color: #0000ff;">https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb386297</span></a></span><br /><br /><b>Extending the User Interface in Outlook 2010( Designing Ribbon with Ribbon Xml)</b><br /><span style="color: #0000ff;"><a href="https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee692172.aspx"><span style="color: #0000ff;">https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee692172.aspx</span></a></span><br /><br />Happy Coding!</p>
<p style="text-align: justify;">Do you Know: <span style="color: #3366ff; font-size: large;"><a href="https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/cloud/default.aspx?fbid=UMdv29TbEv8"><span style="color: #3366ff;">The most comprehensive solutions for the cloud, On earth is here!</span></a></span></p>]]></content:encoded>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Outlook Hyperlinks for Public folder Items in Outlook 2010 does not work?</title>
      <link>https://docs.microsoft.com/archive/blogs/pallavs/outlook-hyperlinks-for-public-folder-items-in-outlook-2010-does-not-work</link>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 Mar 2012 15:23:57 GMT</pubDate>
      <dc:creator><![CDATA[Pallav Sharma]]></dc:creator>
      <guid
        isPermaLink="false">https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/pallavs/2012/03/13/outlook-hyperlinks-for-public-folder-items-in-outlook-2010-does-not-work/</guid>
      <description><![CDATA[Sometimes we require creating hyperlinks for Items inMailbox. Rather than referring to item by its...]]></description>
      <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Sometimes we require creating hyperlinks for Items in<br />Mailbox. Rather than referring to item by its name, I would suggest you to use<br />EntryID to create hyperlinks. So the URL will look like following:</p>
<p><b>Outlook:00000000326A217A1D5B4F4882518F832F76DEC144022000<br /><br />Outlook :&lt; ENTRYID&gt;</b></p>
<p>Now what if you creating hyperlinks for Items inside Public<br />Folder in Outlook 2010? Above hyperlink will throw an exception, if Public<br />folder is not initialized. Due to performance issues, Public folders are not<br />initialized when Outlook starts.<b> </b></p>
<p><b>OL2000: Link to Item in Public Folder Does Not Work</b><br /><span style="color: #0000ff;"><a href="https://support.microsoft.com/kb/281350/en-us3"><span style="color: #0000ff;">https://support.microsoft.com/kb/281350/en-us3</span></a></span><br />(<b>Article is applicable for Outlook 2010 also</b>.)<br /><br /><br /><b>So, how do I create link for items in Public folder in Outlook 2010?<br /><br /></b>You could create the hyperlink for Items inside Public folder using Entry<br />ID of item and you could create COM Add-in or write VBA script to initialize<br />the public folder when Outlook Starts. Once the Public folder is initialized,<br />items inside Public folder could be accessed using hyperlinks. Following two<br />lines of code would initialize the public folder!<br /><code class="csharp"><br />Outlook.NameSpace objNs = Application.GetNamespace("MAPI");<br /> Outlook.MAPIFolder folder =objNs.GetDefaultFolder(Outlook.OlDefaultFolders.olPublicFoldersAllPublicFolders);<br /><br />************************************************************* </code></p>
<h3><span style="font-family: arial,helvetica,sans-serif; font-size: medium;">Following are few useful links for understanding Outlook Hyperlinks:</span></h3>
<p><b>OL98: Using Hyperlinks to Access Outlook Folders and Items<br /></b><span style="color: #0000ff;"><a href="https://support.microsoft.com/kb/179681"><span style="color: #0000ff;">https://support.microsoft.com/kb/179681</span></a></span><br /><br /><br /><b>Outlook:URL Protocol is Not Functional in Outlook 2007<br /></b><span style="color: #0000ff;"><a href="https://support.microsoft.com/kb/968416"><span style="color: #0000ff;">https://support.microsoft.com/kb/968416</span></a></span><br /><br /><br /><br /><b>Note : </b>For Outlook 2007 and Outlook 2010 to make Outlook hyperlink work, we could use a workaround by registering the url in registry. <br />Read through the link below to understand how to register custom URL and what the security concerns are.<br /><br /><b>Registering an Application to a URL Protocol</b><br /><span style="color: #0000ff;"><a href="https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/Aa767914.aspx"><span style="color: #0000ff;">https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/Aa767914.aspx</span></a></span></p>
<p>Well that&rsquo;s it for now on Outlook Hyperlinks. Happy Coding!</p>]]></content:encoded>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>