Opt out of the verifiable credentials

Note

Azure Active Directory Verifiable Credentials is now Microsoft Entra Verified ID and part of the Microsoft Entra family of products. Learn more about the Microsoft Entra family of identity solutions and get started in the unified Microsoft Entra admin center.

In this article:

  • The reason why you may need to opt out.
  • The steps required.
  • What happens to your data?
  • Effect on existing verifiable credentials.

Prerequisites

  • Complete verifiable credentials onboarding.

When do you need to opt out?

Opting out is a one-way operation, after you opt-out your Entra Verified ID environment will be reset. Opting out may be required to:

  • Enable new service capabilities.
  • Reset your service configuration.
  • Switch between trust systems ION and Web

What happens to your data when you opt-out?

When you complete opting out of the Microsoft Entra Verified ID service, the following actions will take place:

  • The DID keys in Key Vault will be soft deleted.
  • The issuer object will be deleted from our database.
  • The tenant identifier will be deleted from our database.
  • All of the verifiable credentials contracts will be deleted from our database.

Once an opt-out takes place, you won't be able to recover your DID or conduct any operations on your DID. This step is a one-way operation, and you need to opt in again, which results in a new environment being created.

Effect on existing verifiable credentials

All verifiable credentials already issued will continue to exist. They won't be cryptographically invalidated as your DID will remain resolvable through ION. However, when relying parties call the status API, they will always receive back a failure message.

How to opt-out from the Microsoft Entra Verified ID service?

  1. From the Azure portal search for verifiable credentials.

  2. Choose Organization Settings from the left side menu.

  3. Under the section, Reset your organization, select Delete all credentials and reset service.

    Section in settings that allows you to reset your organization

  4. Read the warning message and to continue select Delete and opt out.

    settings delete and opt out

Next steps