Object Categories

The system provides three categories of objects: user, graphics device interface (GDI), and kernel. The system uses user objects to support window management, GDI objects to support graphics, and kernel objects to support memory management, process execution, and interprocess communications (IPC). For information about creating and using a specific object, refer to the associated overview.

User object Overview
Accelerator table Keyboard Accelerators
Caret Carets
Cursor Cursors
DDE conversation Dynamic Data Exchange Management Library
Hook Hooks
Icon Icons
Menu Menus
Window Windows
Window position Windows


GDI object Overview
Bitmap Bitmaps
Brush Brushes
DC Device Contexts
Enhanced metafile Metafiles
Enhanced-metafile DC Metafiles
Font Fonts and Text
Memory DC Device Contexts
Metafile Metafiles
Metafile DC Metafiles
Palette Colors
Pen and extended pen Pens
Region Regions


Kernel object Overview
Access token Access Control
Change notification Directory Change Notifications
Communications device Communications
Console input Character-Mode Applications
Console screen buffer Character-Mode Applications
Desktop Desktops
Event Synchronization
Event log Event Logging
File Files and Clusters
File mapping File Mapping
Heap Memory Management
Job Job Objects
Mailslot Mailslots
Module Dynamic-Link Libraries
Mutex Synchronization
Pipe Pipes
Process Processes and Threads
Semaphore Synchronization
Socket Windows Sockets 2
Thread Processes and Threads
Timer Synchronization
Timer queue Synchronization
Timer-queue timer Synchronization
Update resource Resources
Window station Window Stations