Share via

Is this legit? I think it is a scam.

Anonymous
2019-07-23T17:47:54+00:00

I received an email, which I did not open.

On my incoming email, it shows it is from Mail Service.  The content says RE: account upgrade Outlook Mail We are closing all old version of our Mailbox as from July 25.  Please follow the link below to update you account....

When I select to block it, it shows it is from ******@hotmail.com.  But I think this is a scam.  

I think anything legit from Microsoft would say it comes from Microsoft not Hotmail.

Outlook | Web | Outlook.com | Account management, security, and privacy

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

44 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2020-01-12T08:46:36+00:00

    Dears,

    i am having smiluer email that indicate the my account will expired soon and need to confirm the email, the weard thing the source is showing microsoft.com domain but the link to what they suggest to click is not

    DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINK

    pahav.com/roundcube/index.php?..................

    and i reviewed the email header it's (i am no an expert) indicate the domain from microsoft.com

    Was this answer helpful?

    7 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2020-03-13T14:10:04+00:00

    MSN Service <******@msn.com>

    Fri 3/13/2020 7:32 AM

    Outlook Mail

    We are closing all old version of our Mailbox as from March 16th.

    Please follow the link below to update your account :

    EMAIL ACCESS TO UPGRADE

    Thank You.

    Please do not reply to this message. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.

    Was this answer helpful?

    5 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2020-06-15T12:13:10+00:00

    I think is a scamm because I have received minutes ago at 7:54 am East New York time similar mail with different date. It says that I have to update my email box before 30th.

    Besides Microsoft doesn't send any mail using the name of any person.

    Was this answer helpful?

    3 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2020-11-17T13:33:23+00:00

    Hi Steve 770,

    Scam. Good on you for doubting it!

    When you hover the mouse over the link "New Version" it's leading to docs.google.com. If it was genuinely from MS it would lead you to a Microsoft domain not to Googles  :-). MS wouldn't "close all old versions" and ask for your personal information, they would upgrade to a new version automatically after advising you within Outlook.

    Mark as phishing and delete.

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2020-06-18T11:16:47+00:00

    If it's not from microsoft address it's not real. Fraudulent attempt to get your details and probably rob you as well

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments