Sharepoint - when an employee account is terminated, are all their files lost?

Penny007 41 Reputation points
2022-10-07T19:20:59.743+00:00

Hello,

I would like to get clarification for upper management who made the following statement, 'when an employer terminates employment and we remove their account, all their files also are lost.' Is that a true statement?

Thanks,

SharePoint
SharePoint
A group of Microsoft Products and technologies used for sharing and managing content, knowledge, and applications.
9,868 questions
SharePoint Server Management
SharePoint Server Management
SharePoint Server: A family of Microsoft on-premises document management and storage systems.Management: The act or process of organizing, handling, directing or controlling something.
2,840 questions
0 comments No comments
{count} votes

Accepted answer
  1. Haoyan Xue_MSFT 20,906 Reputation points Microsoft Vendor
    2022-10-10T02:29:01.137+00:00

    Hi @Penny007
    Removing a user will not remove their files they created on SharePoint sites. IF files are uploaded they will stay. IF he has local files on his computer that were not uploaded those will go away with the hard disk of the device he had.Eventually, after 30 days, their person site , which contains their OneDrive, that account will be deleted along with the files
    When you remove the license, all that user's data is held for 30 days. In this time period, you can access the data, or restore the account if required (in case the user comes back). After 30 days, all the user's data (except for documents stored on SharePoint Online) is permanently deleted from Microsoft 365 and can't be recovered.
    If you want to learn how to recover deleted user accounts in Microsoft 365, Azure, you can check out this document:https://learn.microsoft.com/en-US/microsoft-365/troubleshoot/active-directory/restore-deleted-user-accounts


    If the answer is helpful, please click "Accept Answer" and kindly upvote it. If you have extra questions about this answer, please click "Comment".
    Note: Please follow the steps in our documentation to enable e-mail notifications if you want to receive the related email notification for this thread.

    0 comments No comments

2 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Dillon Silzer 54,831 Reputation points
    2022-10-07T20:38:26.063+00:00

    Hi @Penny007

    Please see the deletion process (if the user is deleted versus being disabled).

    The OneDrive deletion process

    https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint/retention-and-deletion#the-onedrive-deletion-process

    248548-image.png

    If you are referring to documents they have uploaded/contributed to a SharePoint site, then this doesn't apply.

    -----------------------------------------

    If this is helpful please accept answer.

    0 comments No comments

  2. Penny007 41 Reputation points
    2022-10-10T12:28:47.913+00:00

    @Haoyan Xue_MSFT . Thank you so much for your help. I will gladly pass this information on.

    0 comments No comments