SCCM and change the share name of Application

PerserPolis-1732 1,556 Reputation points
2022-11-08T06:23:10.17+00:00

Hi,

I have created directory named "deployAPP" and share it for deploying my Applications and Programs, it is working since many years. But I want to rename that directory to "sources" and share it share it again because the name of the directory is wrong.

I have a lot of applications and programs linked to the directory in the SCCM for Applications, Package, ADR, Windows Update and....

How can I do that without to changing the Content Location or Source Folder or other related to the directory?

Is that possible?

the second question is the access right of that directory

At the Time I have the following access right of that driectory

258094-security.png

I want to delete the "Authenticated Users" and the "Users". What will be happened after removing? Does work my deployments?

Regards

Microsoft Configuration Manager
0 comments No comments
{count} votes

Accepted answer
  1. Jason Sandys 31,186 Reputation points Microsoft Employee
    2022-11-08T14:51:47.157+00:00

    You can easily script the change of source location for all content types except update packages (from memory). There is a nice community tool that will even do this for you: https://msendpointmgr.com/2015/08/26/configmgr-content-source-update-tool-1-0-0/.

    For update packages, you will have to create new packages I believe.

    As for your permissions, assuming the location is local to the primary site server, then removing authenticated users and users is fine as the local System account is used to access content locations. Make sure the share is set to Everyone Full.

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments

1 additional answer

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Garth 5,801 Reputation points
    2022-11-08T08:31:48.18+00:00

    create a second share pointing the the directory. slow move apps over to the new share. if this is truly just a source location. only care about accessing it when the apps are created after that the data can be removed. but if you ever need to redeploy the apps again. it will need to access the source location again.

    1 person found this answer helpful.