User targeted available apps and primary user relationship

jaybird283 561 Reputation points
2024-04-25T00:56:34.76+00:00

We are working on migrating app deployment from SCCM to Intune, and noticed that only the primary user of a device can see user targeted “available” app deployments in company portal (when deployed with Intune).

if a different user signs into a windows workstation that has someone else assigned as the primary user, that user can’t see intune available apps that were assigned to them. (Even when the app is targeted to “all users”.

microsoft support seems to be indicating that this is by design. That seems absolutely absurd to me.

is that the way it’s supposed to work?

what are we missing? This might throw a wrench into our intune migration if this is just how it works.

also, if anyone has any detailed into into a full list of what the primary user setting affects then please share.

Microsoft Intune
Microsoft Intune
A Microsoft cloud-based management solution that offers mobile device management, mobile application management, and PC management capabilities.
4,456 questions
0 comments No comments
{count} votes

1 answer

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. ZhoumingDuan-MSFT 8,840 Reputation points Microsoft Vendor
    2024-04-25T05:32:20.6433333+00:00

    @jaybird283,Thanks for posting in Q&A.

    Based on my testing, when I deploy apps as available to all user, only the primary user of this computer can see apps in company portal and others with assigned app cannot see apps on company portal. The Company Portal app expects that the user account that signed in to the Company Portal is the primary user of that device. If another user has been assigned as the primary user, the Company Portal shows a warning:

    "This device is already assigned to someone in your organization. Contact company support about becoming the primary device user. You can continue to use Company Portal but functionality will be limited."

    Moreover, the primary user can distinguish if the device is a "Shared Device". When there's no primary user assigned, the device is referred to as a "Shared Device". Shared devices are visually identifiable with a "shared" label appearing on the device tile. In this mode, the Company Portal can still be used to request and install available apps. However, self-service actions (reset/rename/retire) aren't available.

    Hope above information can be helpful.

    If the answer is helpful, please click "Accept Answer" and kindly upvote it. If you have extra questions about this answer, please click "Comment".

    Note: Please follow the steps in our documentation to enable e-mail notifications if you want to receive the related email notification for this thread.