Impact of removing a user in a SPO Site

Bistro 21 Reputation points
2021-05-19T13:58:40.773+00:00

Is there a risk of remove a user from a SPO Site using the GUI: _layouts/15/people.aspx?MembershipGroupId=0 or the PowerShell: Remove-SPOUser?

Ex: Do we lose trace of modification or history from that user?

Thank you
Sebastien

SharePoint
SharePoint
A group of Microsoft Products and technologies used for sharing and managing content, knowledge, and applications.
9,211 questions
SharePoint Server Management
SharePoint Server Management
SharePoint Server: A family of Microsoft on-premises document management and storage systems.Management: The act or process of organizing, handling, directing or controlling something.
2,765 questions
0 comments No comments
{count} votes

2 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Rajakumaran C 1 Reputation point Microsoft Employee
    2021-05-19T22:48:35.077+00:00

    Removing user from membershipgroupid=0 in the site level will remove users from the site level. The user still be present within SPO and can access other sites where he is not removed from. When you remove user from here, he is actual removed from user information list (which is present at each site level).

    Check out this article: https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint/remove-users#remove-people-from-the-userinfo-list
    this talks about how to properly remove user from SPO and then from each site level User Info List (they still have reference here).

    https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/powershell/module/sharepoint-online/remove-spouser?view=sharepoint-ps


  2. Jerry Xu-MSFT 7,911 Reputation points
    2021-05-20T02:24:36.427+00:00

    Hi, @Bistro ,
    For SharePoint Online, removing a user from group or site only means the user is no longer a member of the group/site. He does not have the permission as a group member anymore. You can grant the user the same permission again later. The user still is a member of the tenant and you can find the user in Azure AD. You will not lose the trace of modification or history from that user. The files modified by the user will still get displayed as modified by him/her.


    If an Answer is helpful, please click "Accept Answer" and upvote it.
    Note: Please follow the steps in our documentation to enable e-mail notifications if you want to receive the related email notification for this thread.