"This message has been deleted."

Anonymous
2021-11-29T16:28:05+00:00

I am setting up a new team and I've got a few posts saying "This message has been deleted." and I can't delete the part that says it's been deleted. It looks like and behaves like a bug. Is it best to delete the whole team and start over if I want it to look clean and professional?

Microsoft Teams | Microsoft Teams for business | Chats | Other

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

8 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2021-11-30T19:21:41+00:00

    Sometimes I wonder why MS hires UX designers if they don't bother listening to them.

    Was this answer helpful?

    50+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2021-11-30T19:56:58+00:00

    But I see when other random "this message has been deleted" messages from other members who deleted their message. They just pile up.

    Was this answer helpful?

    30+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Didi 15,515 Reputation points Independent Advisor
    2021-11-30T19:49:21+00:00

    As a fellow Teams user, I hear your situation. Although other members don't see the 'This message has been deleted' message, I think it's still a good idea for it to be completely removed. I also hope that this functionality could be added in future versions.

    Thank you very much, Eric.

    Was this answer helpful?

    10+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2021-11-29T17:34:14+00:00

    Also when something has been deleted and it has the message "this message has been deleted" the only option is "undo" which of course does not delete the deleted message, it makes the original message come back.

    Was this answer helpful?

    10+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2021-11-29T17:17:12+00:00

    Hello, Eric

    I am Igor and I will be glad to help you with this question :)

    When you delete a message, it does indeed go into the Recycle bin for 30 days (which both messages and teams can be restored from by the team owner or admin). After that, it is permanently deleted. https://support.office.com/en-us/article/delete...

    If the issue persists, you may try to isolate the issue by accessing the teams account from the web version and checking if the same issues happens from there

    https://teams.microsoft.com

    Was this answer helpful?

    4 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments