National clouds

National clouds are physically isolated instances of Azure. These regions of Azure are designed to make sure that data residency, sovereignty, and compliance requirements are honored within geographical boundaries.

Including the global Azure cloud, Azure Active Directory (Azure AD) is deployed in the following national clouds:

The individual national clouds and the global Azure cloud are cloud instances. Each cloud instance is separate from the others and has its own environment and endpoints. Cloud-specific endpoints include OAuth 2.0 access token and OpenID Connect ID token request endpoints, and URLs for app management and deployment, like the Azure portal.

As you develop your apps, use the endpoints for the cloud instance where you'll deploy the application.

App registration endpoints

There's a separate Azure portal for each one of the national clouds. To integrate applications with the Microsoft identity platform in a national cloud, you're required to register your application separately in each Azure portal that's specific to the environment.

The following table lists the base URLs for the Azure AD endpoints used to register an application for each national cloud.

National cloud Azure portal endpoint
Azure portal for US Government
Azure portal China operated by 21Vianet
Azure portal (global service)

Application endpoints

You can find the authentication endpoints for your application in the Azure portal.

  1. Sign in to the Azure portal.

  2. Select Azure Active Directory.

  3. Under Manage, select App registrations, and then select Endpoints in the top menu.

    The Endpoints page is displayed showing the authentication endpoints for the application registered in your Azure AD tenant.

    Use the endpoint that matches the authentication protocol you're using in conjunction with the Application (client) ID to craft the authentication request specific to your application.

Azure AD authentication endpoints

All the national clouds authenticate users separately in each environment and have separate authentication endpoints.

The following table lists the base URLs for the Azure AD endpoints used to acquire tokens for each national cloud.

National cloud Azure AD authentication endpoint
Azure AD for US Government
Azure AD China operated by 21Vianet
Azure AD (global service)

You can form requests to the Azure AD authorization or token endpoints by using the appropriate region-specific base URL. For example, for global Azure:

  • Authorization common endpoint is
  • Token common endpoint is

For single-tenant applications, replace "common" in the previous URLs with your tenant ID or name. An example is

Azure Germany (Microsoft Cloud Deutschland)

If you haven't migrated your application from Azure Germany, follow Azure Active Directory information for the migration from Azure Germany to get started.

Microsoft Graph API

To learn how to call the Microsoft Graph APIs in a national cloud environment, go to Microsoft Graph in national cloud deployments.

Some services and features in the global Azure cloud might be unavailable in other cloud instances like the national clouds.

To find out which services and features are available in a given cloud instance, see Products available by region.

To learn how to build an application by using the Microsoft identity platform, follow the Single-page application (SPA) using auth code flow tutorial. Specifically, this app will sign in a user and get an access token to call the Microsoft Graph API.

Next steps

Learn how to use the Microsoft Authentication Library (MSAL) in a national cloud environment.

National cloud documentation: