Language and region support for the Bing Custom Search API


On October 30, 2020, the Bing Search APIs moved from Azure AI services to Bing Search Services. This documentation is provided for reference only. For updated documentation, see the Bing search API documentation. For instructions on creating new Azure resources for Bing search, see Create a Bing Search resource through the Azure Marketplace.

The Bing Custom Search API supports more than three dozen countries/regions, many with more than one language.

Although it's optional, the request should specify the mkt query parameter, which identifies the market where you want the results to come from. For a list of optional query parameters, see Query Parameters

You can specify a country/region using the cc query parameter. If you specify a country/region, you must also specify one or more language codes using the Accept-Language header. The supported languages vary by country/region; they are given for each country/region in the Markets table.

The Accept-Language header and the setLang query parameter are mutually exclusive—do not specify both. For details, see Accept-Language.


Country/region Code
Argentina AR
Australia AU
Austria AT
Belgium BE
Brazil BR
Canada CA
Chile CL
Denmark DK
Finland FI
France FR
Germany DE
Hong Kong SAR HK
India IN
Indonesia ID
Italy IT
Japan JP
Korea KR
Malaysia MY
Mexico MX
Netherlands NL
New Zealand NZ
Norway NO
China CN
Poland PL
Portugal PT
Philippines PH
Russia RU
Saudi Arabia SA
South Africa ZA
Spain ES
Sweden SE
Switzerland CH
Taiwan TW
Türkiye TR
United Kingdom GB
United States US


Country/region Language Market Code
Argentina Spanish es-AR
Australia English en-AU
Austria German de-AT
Belgium Dutch nl-BE
Belgium French fr-BE
Brazil Portuguese pt-BR
Canada English en-CA
Canada French fr-CA
Chile Spanish es-CL
Denmark Danish da-DK
Finland Finnish fi-FI
France French fr-FR
Germany German de-DE
Hong Kong SAR Traditional Chinese zh-HK
India English en-IN
Indonesia English en-ID
Italy Italian it-IT
Japan Japanese ja-JP
Korea Korean ko-KR
Malaysia English en-MY
Mexico Spanish es-MX
Netherlands Dutch nl-NL
New Zealand English en-NZ
Norway Norwegian no-NO
China Chinese zh-CN
Poland Polish pl-PL
Portugal Portuguese pt-PT
Philippines English en-PH
Russia Russian ru-RU
Saudi Arabia Arabic ar-SA
South Africa English en-ZA
Spain Spanish es-ES
Sweden Swedish sv-SE
Switzerland French fr-CH
Switzerland German de-CH
Taiwan Traditional Chinese zh-TW
Türkiye Turkish tr-TR
United Kingdom English en-GB
United States English en-US
United States Spanish es-US