Speech service supported regions

The Speech service allows your application to convert audio to text, perform speech translation, and convert text to speech. The service is available in multiple regions with unique endpoints for the Speech SDK and REST APIs. You can perform custom configurations to your speech experience, for all regions, at the Speech Studio.

Keep in mind the following points:

  • If your application uses a Speech SDK, you provide the region identifier, such as westus, when you create a SpeechConfig. Make sure the region matches the region of your subscription.
  • If your application uses one of the Speech service REST APIs, the region is part of the endpoint URI you use when making requests.
  • Keys created for a region are valid only in that region. If you attempt to use them with other regions, you get authentication errors.

Note

Speech service doesn't store or process customer data outside the region the customer deploys the service instance in.

Speech service

The following regions are supported for Speech service features such as speech-to-text, text-to-speech, pronunciation assessment, and translation. The geographies are listed in alphabetical order.

Geography Region Region identifier
Africa South Africa North southafricanorth 6
Asia Pacific East Asia eastasia 5
Asia Pacific Southeast Asia southeastasia 1,2,3,4,5
Asia Pacific Australia East australiaeast 1,2,3,4
Asia Pacific Central India centralindia 1,2,3,4,5
Asia Pacific Japan East japaneast 2,5
Asia Pacific Japan West japanwest
Asia Pacific Korea Central koreacentral 2
Canada Canada Central canadacentral 1
Europe North Europe northeurope 1,2,4,5
Europe West Europe westeurope 1,2,3,4,5
Europe France Central francecentral
Europe Germany West Central germanywestcentral
Europe Norway East norwayeast
Europe Switzerland North switzerlandnorth 6
Europe Switzerland West switzerlandwest
Europe UK South uksouth 1,2,3,4
Middle East UAE North uaenorth 6
South America Brazil South brazilsouth 6
US Central US centralus
US East US eastus 1,2,3,4,5
US East US 2 eastus2 1,2,4,5
US North Central US northcentralus 1,4,6
US South Central US southcentralus 1,2,3,4,5,6
US West Central US westcentralus 5
US West US westus 2,5
US West US 2 westus2 1,2,4,5
US West US 3 westus3

1 The region has dedicated hardware for Custom Speech training. If you plan to train a custom model with audio data, use one of the regions with dedicated hardware for faster training. Then you can copy the trained model to another region.

2 The region is available for Custom Neural Voice training. You can copy a trained neural voice model to other regions for deployment.

3 The Long Audio API is available in the region.

4 The region supports custom keyword advanced models.

5 The region supports keyword verification.

6 The region does not support Speaker Recognition.

Intent recognition

Available regions for intent recognition via the Speech SDK are in the following table.

Global region Region Region identifier
Asia East Asia eastasia
Asia Southeast Asia southeastasia
Australia Australia East australiaeast
Europe North Europe northeurope
Europe West Europe westeurope
North America East US eastus
North America East US 2 eastus2
North America South Central US southcentralus
North America West Central US westcentralus
North America West US westus
North America West US 2 westus2
South America Brazil South brazilsouth

This is a subset of the publishing regions supported by the Language Understanding service (LUIS).

Voice assistants

The Speech SDK supports voice assistant capabilities through Direct Line Speech for regions in the following table.

Global region Region Region identifier
North America West US westus
North America West US 2 westus2
North America East US eastus
North America East US 2 eastus2
North America West Central US westcentralus
North America South Central US southcentralus
Europe West Europe westeurope
Europe North Europe northeurope
Asia East Asia eastasia
Asia Southeast Asia southeastasia
India Central India centralindia