Availability zone migration guidance overview

Azure services that support availability zones, including zonal and zone-redundant offerings, are continually expanding. For that reason, resources that don't currently have availability zone support, may have an opportunity to gain that support. The Migration Guides section offers a collection of guides for each service that requires certain procedures in order to move a resource from non-availability zone support to availability support. You'll find information on prerequisites for migration, download requirements, important migration considerations and recommendations.

The table below lists each product that offers migration guidance and/or information.

Azure services migration guides

An icon that signifies this service is foundational. Foundational services

Azure Application Gateway (V2)
Azure Backup
Azure Site Recovery
Azure Storage account
Azure Storage: Azure Data Lake Storage
Azure Storage: Disk Storage
Azure Storage: Blob Storage
Azure Storage: Managed Disks
Azure Virtual Machine Scale Sets
Azure Virtual Machines
Virtual Machines: Av2-Series
Virtual Machines: Bs-Series
Virtual Machines: DSv2-Series
Virtual Machines: DSv3-Series
Virtual Machines: Dv2-Series
Virtual Machines: Dv3-Series
Virtual Machines: ESv3-Series
Virtual Machines: Ev3-Series
Virtual Machines: F-Series
Virtual Machines: FS-Series
Virtual Machines: Azure Compute Gallery

*VMs that support availability zones: AV2-series, B-series, DSv2-series, DSv3-series, Dv2-series, Dv3-series, ESv3-series, Ev3-series, F-series, FS-series, FSv2-series, and M-series.

An icon that signifies this service is mainstream. Mainstream services

Azure API Management
Azure App Service: App Service Environment
Azure Cache for Redis
Azure Container Instances
Azure Database for MySQL - Flexible Server
Azure Monitor: Log Analytics
Azure Storage: Files Storage
Virtual Machines: Azure Dedicated Host
Virtual Machines: Ddsv4-Series
Virtual Machines: Ddv4-Series
Virtual Machines: Dsv4-Series
Virtual Machines: Dv4-Series
Virtual Machines: Edsv4-Series
Virtual Machines: Edv4-Series
Virtual Machines: Esv4-Series
Virtual Machines: Ev4-Series
Virtual Machines: Fsv2-Series
Virtual Machines: M-Series

Next steps