What is geo-filtering on a domain for Azure Front Door Service?

By default, Azure Front Door will respond to all user requests regardless of the location where the request is coming from. In some scenarios, you may want to restrict the access to your web application by countries/regions. The Web application firewall (WAF) service in Front Door enables you to define a policy using custom access rules for a specific path on your endpoint to either allow or block access from specified countries/regions.

A WAF policy contains a set of custom rules. The rule consists of match conditions, an action, and a priority. In a match condition, you define a match variable, operator, and match value. For a geo filtering rule, a match variable is either RemoteAddr or SocketAddr. RemoteAddr is the original client IP that is usually sent via X-Forwarded-For request header. SocketAddr is the source IP address WAF sees. If your user is behind a proxy, SocketAddr is often the proxy server address. The operator in the case of this geo filtering rule is GeoMatch, and the value is a two letter country/region code of interest. "ZZ" country code or "Unknown" country captures IP addresses that are not yet mapped to a country in our dataset. You may add ZZ to your match condition to avoid false positives. You can combine a GeoMatch condition and a REQUEST_URI string match condition to create a path-based geo-filtering rule.

You can configure a geo-filtering policy for your Front Door by using Azure PowerShell or by using a quickstart template.


Include the country code ZZ whenever you use geo-filtering. The ZZ country code (or Unknown country) captures IP addresses that are not yet mapped to a country in our dataset. This avoids false positives.

Country/Region code reference

Country/Region code Country/Region name
AD Andorra
AE United Arab Emirates
AF Afghanistan
AG Antigua and Barbuda
AL Albania
AM Armenia
AO Angola
AR Argentina
AS American Samoa
AT Austria
AU Australia
AZ Azerbaijan
BA Bosnia and Herzegovina
BB Barbados
BD Bangladesh
BE Belgium
BF Burkina Faso
BG Bulgaria
BH Bahrain
BI Burundi
BJ Benin
BL Saint Barthélemy
BN Brunei Darussalam
BO Bolivia
BR Brazil
BS Bahamas
BT Bhutan
BW Botswana
BY Belarus
BZ Belize
CA Canada
CD Democratic Republic of the Congo
CG Republic of the Congo
CF Central African Republic
CH Switzerland
CI Cote d'Ivoire
CL Chile
CM Cameroon
CN China
CO Colombia
CR Costa Rica
CU Cuba
CV Cabo Verde
CY Cyprus
CZ Czech Republic
DE Germany
DK Denmark
DO Dominican Republic
DZ Algeria
EC Ecuador
EE Estonia
EG Egypt
ES Spain
ET Ethiopia
FI Finland
FJ Fiji
FM Micronesia, Federated States of
FR France
GB United Kingdom
GE Georgia
GF French Guiana
GH Ghana
GN Guinea
GP Guadeloupe
GR Greece
GT Guatemala
GY Guyana
HK Hong Kong SAR
HN Honduras
HR Croatia
HT Haiti
HU Hungary
ID Indonesia
IE Ireland
IL Israel
IN India
IQ Iraq
IR Iran, Islamic Republic of
IS Iceland
IT Italy
JM Jamaica
JO Jordan
JP Japan
KE Kenya
KG Kyrgyzstan
KH Cambodia
KI Kiribati
KN Saint Kitts and Nevis
KP Korea, Democratic People's Republic of
KR Korea, Republic of
KW Kuwait
KY Cayman Islands
KZ Kazakhstan
LA Lao People's Democratic Republic
LB Lebanon
LI Liechtenstein
LK Sri Lanka
LR Liberia
LS Lesotho
LT Lithuania
LU Luxembourg
LV Latvia
LY Libya
MA Morocco
MD Moldova, Republic of
MG Madagascar
MK North Macedonia
ML Mali
MM Myanmar
MN Mongolia
MO Macao SAR
MQ Martinique
MR Mauritania
MT Malta
MV Maldives
MW Malawi
MX Mexico
MY Malaysia
MZ Mozambique
NA Namibia
NE Niger
NG Nigeria
NI Nicaragua
NL Netherlands
NO Norway
NP Nepal
NR Nauru
NZ New Zealand
OM Oman
PA Panama
PE Peru
PH Philippines
PK Pakistan
PL Poland
PR Puerto Rico
PT Portugal
PW Palau
PY Paraguay
QA Qatar
RE Reunion
RO Romania
RS Serbia
RU Russian Federation
RW Rwanda
SA Saudi Arabia
SD Sudan
SE Sweden
SG Singapore
SI Slovenia
SK Slovakia
SN Senegal
SO Somalia
SR Suriname
SS South Sedan
SV El Salvador
SY Syrian Arab Republic
SZ Swaziland
TC Turks and Caicos Islands
TG Togo
TH Thailand
TN Tunisia
TR Türkiye
TT Trinidad and Tobago
TW Taiwan
TZ Tanzania, United Republic of
UA Ukraine
UG Uganda
US United States
UY Uruguay
UZ Uzbekistan
VC Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
VE Venezuela
VG Virgin Islands, British
VI Virgin Islands, U.S.
VN Vietnam
YE Yemen
ZA South Africa
ZM Zambia
ZW Zimbabwe

Next steps