Retain permissions when enabling cloud migration

Enabled for Public preview General availability
Admins, makers, marketers, or analysts, automatically - Oct 2, 2023

Business value

Keeping permissions during cloud migration provides greater flexibility and convenience for users and certain operations that work with data.

Feature details

We're introducing a new option to the cloud migration tooling for Dynamics 365 Business Central that allows users to retain their current permissions while you migrate data to the cloud. This option is useful in the following scenarios:

  • You want to move additional data into live environments for Dynamics GP migration. Note that migration from Business Central on-premises to live cloud environments isn't officially supported.
  • You want to use service-to-service (S2S) authentication during the cloud migration.

By default, user permissions are replaced with the Intelligent Cloud permission set, which means only users with SUPER permissions have access to modify data while an environment is under replication. This behavior ensures data integrity and security during the migration process. However, you may want some users to keep their original permissions, for various reasons. For example, you may want users to continue working on your data while it is being replicated, or you may want to use S2S apps that require specific permissions.

To enable this option, you need to run a new action called Enable/Disable Removing Permissions from Users before you set up the cloud migration. This action will preserve your current user permissions when you set up cloud migration. You can find this action on the Cloud Migration Management page, in the Actions menu.

Tell us what you think

Help us improve Dynamics 365 Business Central by discussing ideas, providing suggestions, and giving feedback. Use the forum at https://aka.ms/bcideas.

See also

Retain permissions during cloud migration (docs)