Restore a deleted Microsoft 365 group
If you've deleted a group, it will be retained for 30 days by default. This 30-day period is considered a "soft-delete" because you can still restore the group. After 30 days, the group and its associated contents are permanently deleted and cannot be restored.
When a group is restored, the following content is restored:
Microsoft Entra Microsoft 365 Groups object, properties, and members.
Group's e-mail addresses.
Exchange Online shared Inbox and calendar.
SharePoint Online team site and files.
Viva Engage group and group content (If the Microsoft 365 group was created from Viva Engage)
Power BI Classic workspace
This article describes restoring only Microsoft 365 groups. All other groups cannot be restored once deleted.
Restore a group
If you are the owner of a Microsoft 365 group, you can restore the group yourself in Outlook on the web by following these steps:
On the deleted groups page, select the Manage groups option under the Groups node, and then choose Deleted.
Click on the Restore tab next to the group you want to restore.
If the deleted group doesn't appear here, contact an administrator.
Got questions about Microsoft 365 Groups?
Visit the Microsoft Tech Community to post questions and participate in conversations about Microsoft 365 groups.