Differentiate your business by attaining Microsoft competencies

Appropriate roles: Global admin | User management admin


Gold and Silver competencies are deprecated as of Sep 30, 2022. This article will be removed on Oct 31, 2022.

Demonstrate your proven expertise in delivering quality solutions in one or more specialized areas of business. Microsoft competencies are designed to prepare you to meet your customers' needs, and to help you attract new customers who are looking for Microsoft-certified solution providers. Join the elite tier of Microsoft partners and stand out from your peers.

  • Attain a silver competency to demonstrate your consistent capability and commitment.

  • Attain a gold competency to demonstrate your best-in-class capability within a Microsoft solution area.

Attaining a competency can also be an entry to further benefits and opportunities:

Check your status as you attain a competency

You can see requirements and what your company has achieved from the competency area of your Partner Center.

  1. Sign in to the Partner Center and select Membership, then select Competencies.

  2. Select the competency name and specific competency option to view details. You can see what you have completed and you can also see the full requirements and links to the specific exams and retired exam validation dates.

Competency areas

To acquire silver or gold membership competency, you're asked to demonstrate expertise in various areas of business and technology.

Area Competency
Applications and Infrastructure - Application Development
- App Integration
- Cloud Platform
- DevOps
- Datacenter
Business Applications - Cloud Business Applications
- Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP)
- Project and Portfolio
Data and AI - Data Analytics
- Data Platform
Modern Workplace and Security - Collaboration and Content
- Communications
- Cloud Productivity
- Enterprise Mobility Management (EMM)
- Messaging
- Security
- Small and Midmarket Cloud Solutions
- Windows and Devices

Silver and gold competency levels have different requirements for each of the areas. Within each area are classes and exams that employees in your company can take to achieve the competency level you want.

To learn more about what's needed to attain silver and gold competencies, see Microsoft Cloud Partner Program competencies.

Next steps