Share via

BasicLogsBufferConfiguration.ScheduledTransferLogLevelFilter Property


Gets or sets the logging level by which to filter records when performing a scheduled transfer.

Namespace:   Microsoft.WindowsAzure.Diagnostics
Assembly:  Microsoft.WindowsAzure.Diagnostics (in Microsoft.WindowsAzure.Diagnostics.dll)


public LogLevel ScheduledTransferLogLevelFilter { get; set; }
property LogLevel ScheduledTransferLogLevelFilter {
    LogLevel get();
    void set(LogLevel value);
member ScheduledTransferLogLevelFilter : LogLevel with get, set
Public Property ScheduledTransferLogLevelFilter As LogLevel

Property Value

Type: Microsoft.WindowsAzure.Diagnostics.LogLevel

Type: Microsoft.WindowsAzure.Diagnostics.LogLevel

Returns LogLevel.


The ScheduledTransferLogLevelFilter property is used to specify a LogLevel for diagnostics logs. When you specify a LogLevel, all events greater than or equal to the specified severity are transferred to persistent storage. For example, if you specify LogLevel = Warning, Error and Critical logs will also be transferred to persistent storage.

The default value of this property is Undefined. Undefined specifies that logging events at all levels will be transferred.


The following code snippet remotely configures the diagnostics monitor of ever instance in a specific role to transfer only error-level Diagnostic Infrastructure logs from local storage to persistent storage every 30 minutes.

// Get the connection string. It's recommended that you store the connection string in your web.config or app.config file.
// Use the ConfigurationManager type to retrieve your storage connection string.  You can find the account name and key in
// the Windows Azure Management Portal (
//string connectionString = "DefaultEndpointsProtocol=https;AccountName=<AccountName>;AccountKey=<AccountKey>";
string connectionString = System.Configuration.ConfigurationManager.ConnectionStrings["StorageConnectionString"].ConnectionString;

// The deployment ID and role name for your application can be obtained from the 
// Windows Azure Management Portal ( See your 
// application dashboard under Cloud Services.
string deploymentID = "e2ab8b6667644666ba627bdf6f5e4daa";
string roleName = "WebRole1";

// Get the DeploymentDiagnosticManager object for your deployment.
DeploymentDiagnosticManager diagManager = new DeploymentDiagnosticManager(connectionString, deploymentID);

// Get the RoleInstanceDiagnosticManager objects for each instance of your role.
IEnumerable<RoleInstanceDiagnosticManager> instanceManagers = diagManager.GetRoleInstanceDiagnosticManagersForRole(roleName);            

// Iterate through the role instances and update the configuration.
foreach (RoleInstanceDiagnosticManager roleInstance in instanceManagers)
   DiagnosticMonitorConfiguration diagnosticConfiguration = roleInstance.GetCurrentConfiguration();

   // Filter the logs so that only error-level logs are transferred to persistent storage.
   diagnosticConfiguration.DiagnosticInfrastructureLogs.ScheduledTransferLogLevelFilter = LogLevel.Error;

   // Schedule a transfer period of 30 minutes.
   diagnosticConfiguration.DiagnosticInfrastructureLogs.ScheduledTransferPeriod = TimeSpan.FromMinutes(30.0);

   // Specify a buffer quota.
   diagnosticConfiguration.DiagnosticInfrastructureLogs.BufferQuotaInMB = 1024;



This API is not supported in Azure SDK versions 2.5 and higher. Instead, use the diagnostics.wadcfg XML configuration file. For more information, see Collect Logging Data by Using Azure Diagnostics.

See Also

BasicLogsBufferConfiguration Class
Microsoft.WindowsAzure.Diagnostics Namespace

Return to top