Upgrade the Default E-Mail Address Policy from LDAP Filters to OPATH Filters


Applies to: Exchange Server 2010 SP3, Exchange Server 2010 SP2

In Microsoft Exchange Server 2003 and earlier versions, LDAP filtering syntax is used when customizing the default e-mail address policy. However, in Exchange Server 2010, the OPATH filtering syntax replaces the LDAP filtering syntax. This topic explains how to use the Exchange Management Shell to upgrade the filtering syntax from LDAP to OPATH for the legacy default e-mail address policy.

There is only one default e-mail address policy (named Default Policy) in your organization. The default e-mail address policy can be identified by having the priority value of "lowest".


LDAP syntax filters are supported in Exchange 2010 and will exist only on objects that have been migrated from Exchange 2003 or earlier versions. You must upgrade these LDAP filters to the OPATH syntax only if you want to edit the filter from an Exchange 2010 server. For example, if you have Exchange 2003 and Exchange 2010 servers in your organization, you can manage the LDAP syntax filter from an Exchange 2003 server. You can't manage or create LDAP syntax filters in Exchange 2010.

For more information about how to determine if the default e-mail address policy requires upgrading, see "Determining Which Objects Require Upgrading" in Upgrade Custom LDAP Filters to OPATH Filters.

Use the Shell to upgrade the default e-mail address policy

You need to be assigned permissions before you can perform this procedure. To see what permissions you need, see the "E-mail address policies" entry in the Mailbox Permissions topic.


You can't use the EMC to upgrade the default e-mail address policy.

This example upgrades the default e-mail address policy.

Set-EmailAddressPolicy "Default Policy" -IncludedRecipients AllRecipients

A warning appears asking if you're sure you want to perform this action. Type Y to confirm.

For detailed syntax and parameter information, see Set-EmailAddressPolicy.

 © 2010 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.