Microsoft Edge system and language requirements

Applies to: Microsoft Edge on Windows 10 and Windows 10 Mobile


You've reached the documentation for Microsoft Edge version 45 and earlier. To see the documentation for Microsoft Edge version 77 or later, go to the Microsoft Edge documentation landing page.

Microsoft Edge is the new, default web browser for Windows 10, helping you to experience modern web standards, better performance, improved security, and increased reliability. Microsoft Edge lets you stay up-to-date through the Microsoft Store and to manage your enterprise through Group Policy or your mobile device management (MDM) tools.


The Long-Term Servicing Branch (LTSB) versions of Windows, including Windows Server 2016, don’t include Microsoft Edge or many other Universal Windows Platform (UWP) apps. Systems running the LTSB operating systems do not support these apps because their services get frequently updated with new functionality. For customers who require the LTSB for specialized devices, we recommend using Internet Explorer 11.

Minimum system requirements

Some of the components might also need additional system resources. Check the component's documentation for more information.

Item Minimum requirements
Computer/processor 1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster (32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64))
Operating system
  • Windows 10 (32-bit or 64-bit)
  • Windows 10 Mobile

For specific Windows 10 Mobile requirements, see the Minimum hardware requirements for Windows 10 Mobile topic.

  • Windows 10 (32-bit) - 1 GB
  • Windows 10 (64-bit) - 2 GB
Hard drive space
  • Windows 10 (32-bit) - 16 GB
  • Windows 10 (64-bit) - 20 GB
DVD drive DVD-ROM drive (if installing from a DVD-ROM)
Display Super VGA (800 x 600) or higher-resolution monitor with 256 colors
Graphics card Microsoft DirectX 9 or later with Windows Display Driver Model (WDDM) 1.0 driver
Peripherals Internet connection and a compatible pointing device

Supported languages

Microsoft Edge supports all of the same languages as Windows 10 and you can use the Microsoft Translator extension to translate foreign language web pages and text selections for 60+ languages.

If the extension does not work after install, restart Microsoft Edge. If the extension still does not work, provide feedback through the Feedback Hub.

Language Country/Region Code
Afrikaans (South Africa) South Africa af-ZA
Albanian (Albania) Albania sq-AL
Amharic Ethiopia am-ET
Arabic (Saudi Arabia) Saudi Arabia ar-SA
Armenian Armenia hy-AM
Assamese India as-IN
Azerbaijani (Latin, Azerbaijan) Azerbaijan az-Latn-AZ
Bangla (Bangladesh) Bangladesh bn-BD
Bangla (India) India bn-IN
Basque (Basque) Spain eu-ES
Belarusian (Belarus) Belarus be-BY
Bosnian (Latin) Bosnia and Herzegovina bs-Latn-BA
Bulgarian (Bulgaria) Bulgaria bg-BG
Catalan (Catalan) Spain ca-ES
Central Kurdish (Arabic) Iraq ku-Arab-IQ
Cherokee (Cherokee) United States chr-Cher-US
Chinese (Hong Kong SAR) Hong Kong Special Administrative Region zh-HK
Chinese (Simplified, China) People's Republic of China zh-CN
Chinese (Traditional, Taiwan) Taiwan zh-TW
Croatian (Croatia) Croatia hr-HR
Czech (Czech Republic) Czech Republic cs-CZ
Danish (Denmark) Denmark da-DK
Dari Afghanistan prs-AF
Dutch (Netherlands) Netherlands nl-NL
English (United Kingdom) United Kingdom en-GB
English (United States) United States en-US
Estonian (Estonia) Estonia et-EE
Filipino (Philippines) Philippines fil-PH
Finnish (Finland) Finland fi_FI
French (Canada) Canada fr-CA
French (France) France fr-FR
Galician (Galician) Spain gl-ES
Georgian Georgia ka-GE
German (Germany) Germany de-DE
Greek (Greece) Greece el-GR
Gujarati India gu-IN
Hausa (Latin, Nigeria) Nigeria ha-Latn-NG
Hebrew (Israel) Israel he-IL
Hindi (India) India hi-IN
Hungarian (Hungary) Hungary hu-HU
Icelandic Iceland is-IS
Igbo Nigeria ig-NG
Indonesian (Indonesia) Indonesia id-ID
Irish Ireland ga-IE
isiXhosa South Africa xh-ZA
isiZulu South Africa zu-ZA
Italian (Italy) Italy it-IT
Japanese (Japan) Japan ja-JP
Kannada India kn-IN
Kazakh (Kazakhstan) Kazakhstan kk-KZ
Khmer (Cambodia) Cambodia km-KH
K'iche' Guatemala quc-Latn-GT
Kinyarwanda Rwanda rw-RW
KiSwahili Kenya, Tanzania sw-KE
Konkani India kok-IN
Korean (Korea) Korea ko-KR
Kyrgyz Kyrgyzstan ky-KG
Lao (Laos) Lao P.D.R. lo-LA
Latvian (Latvia) Latvia lv-LV
Lithuanian (Lithuania) Lithuania lt-LT
Luxembourgish (Luxembourg) Luxembourg lb-LU
Macedonian (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) Macedonia (FYROM) mk-MK
Malay (Malaysia) Malaysia, Brunei, and Singapore ms-MY
Malayalam India ml-IN
Maltese Malta mt-MT
Maori New Zealand mi-NZ
Marathi India mr-IN
Mongolian (Cyrillic) Mongolia mn-MN
Nepali Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal ne-NP
Norwegian (Nynorsk) Norway nn-NO
Norwegian, Bokmål (Norway) Norway nb-NO
Odia India or-IN
Polish (Poland) Poland pl-PL
Portuguese (Brazil) Brazil pt-BR
Portuguese (Portugal) Portugal pt-PT
Punjabi India pa-IN
Punjabi (Arabic) Pakistan pa-Arab-PK
Quechua Peru quz-PE
Romanian (Romania) Romania ro-RO
Russian (Russia) Russia ru-RU
Scottish Gaelic United Kingdom gd-GB
Serbian (Cyrillic, Bosnia, and Herzegovina) Bosnia and Herzegovina sr-Cyrl-BA
Serbian (Cyrillic, Serbia) Serbia sr-Cyrl-RS
Serbian (Latin, Serbia) Serbia sr-Latn-RS
Sesotho sa Leboa South Africa nso-ZA
Setswana (South Africa) South Africa and Botswana tn-ZA
Sindhi (Arabic) Pakistan sd-Arab-PK
Sinhala Sri Lanka si-LK
Slovak (Slovakia) Slovakia sk-SK
Slovenian (Slovenia) Slovenia sl-SL
Spanish (Mexico) Mexico es-MX
Spanish (Spain, International Sort) Spain en-ES
Swedish (Sweden) Sweden sv-SE
Tajik (Cyrillic) Tajikistan tg-Cyrl-TJ
Tamil (India) India and Sri Lanka ta-IN
Tatar Russia tt-RU
Telugu India te-IN
Thai (Thailand) Thailand th-TH
Tigrinya (Ethiopia) Ethiopia ti-ET
Turkish (Turkey) Turkey tr-TR
Turkmen Turkmenistan tk-TM
Ukrainian (Ukraine) Ukraine uk-UA
Urdu Pakistan ur-PK
Uyghur People's Republic of China ug-CN
Uzbek (Latin, Uzbekistan) Uzbekistan uz-Latn-UZ
Valencian Spain ca-ES-valencia
Vietnamese Vietnam vi-VN
Welsh United Kingdom cy-GB
Wolof Senegal wo-SN
Yoruba Nigeria yo-NG