Set a Trust Level (IIS 7)

Applies To: Windows 7, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Vista

Set a trust level when you want to make sure that an application runs with specific code access security (CAS) permissions.


Adding a configuration setting adds the setting at the local level and to any child levels that inherit the setting.


For information about the levels at which you can perform this procedure, and the modules, handlers, and permissions that are required to perform this procedure, see Trust Levels Feature Requirements (IIS 7).

Exceptions to Feature Requirements

  • None

To set a trust level

You can perform this procedure by using the user interface (UI), by running Appcmd.exe commands in a command-line window, by editing configuration files directly, or by writing WMI scripts.

User Interface

To use the UI

  1. Open IIS Manager and navigate to the level you want to manage. For information about opening IIS Manager, see Open IIS Manager (IIS 7). For information about navigating to locations in the UI, see Navigation in IIS Manager (IIS 7).

  2. In Features View, double-click .NET Trust Levels.

  3. On the .NET Trust Levels page, select a trust level from the Trust level drop-down list, and then click Apply in the Actions pane.

Command Line

To set a trust level, use the following syntax:

appcmd set config /commit:WEBROOT /section:trust /level: Full | High | Medium | Low | Minimal

The level attribute uses one of five values that correspond to preconfigured CAS policy files. For example, to set a trust level of Full, type the following at the command prompt, and then press ENTER:

appcmd set config /commit:WEBROOT /section:trust /level:Full


When you use Appcmd.exe to configure the trust element at the global level in IIS 7, you must specify /commit:WEBROOT in the command so that configuration changes are made to the root Web.config file instead of ApplicationHost.config.

For more information about Appcmd.exe, see Appcmd.exe (IIS 7).


The procedure in this topic affects the following configuration elements:

<trust> under <system.web>

For more information about IISĀ 7 configuration, see IIS 7.0: IIS Settings Schema on MSDN.


Use the following WMI classes, methods, or properties to perform this procedure:

  • TrustSection.Level property

For more information about WMI and IIS, see Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) in IIS 7. For more information about the classes, methods, or properties associated with this procedure, see the IIS WMI Provider Reference on the MSDN site.

See Also


Configuring .NET Trust Levels in IIS 7