NTLM Authentication

Updated: November 29, 2012

Applies To: Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2012, Windows Vista, Windows XP

This technology collection page lists all pertinent resources available for NTLM authentication in the Microsoft TechNet Libraries for all Windows Server operating system versions beginning with Windows Server 2003.

The following resources will help you locate priority information:

Product Evaluation

  • Introducing the Restriction of NTLM Authentication

    This product evaluation article written for the IT professional describes new security policies introduced in Windows Server 2008 R2 and Windows 7 to help you analyze and restrict NTLM authentication usage in your IT environment.

  • Changes in NTLM Authentication

    This product evaluation article for IT professionals describes two significant changes in the NTLM authentication protocol in Windows Server 2008 R2 and Windows 7.

Planning and Architecture



The following list of Knowledge Base articles for the IT professional address specific issues uncovered in Windows operation systems beginning with Windows Server 2003.