Intune delete and wipe options - seek full explanation of each

Paul Thomas 0 Reputation points
2024-06-27T10:54:56.44+00:00

I would like a more detailed explanation as to what happens when we choose to Delete or Wipe a device from Intune.

Primarily concerned about data on the PC.

We have some devices we are going to need to remove from Intune and Entra and then re-enroll back in. (Duplicate device entry issues in Entra with non-matching Intune records).

A Microsoft Engineer said that files on the PC's that were downloaded from our M365 could be wiped by these two options (Delete/Wipe).

Its critical we understand under what circumstances this happens. For example, does it make a difference if the PC is Entra Registered or Joined? Or if the Device is marked as Corporate or Personal in Intune?

Understanding this is going to be beneficial to deal with the current issue, but also for dealing with leavers and ensuring Company data is removed from devices. Some could be Employees who return their laptop, others may be using BYOD and we also have SubContractors using their own BYOD devices.

Microsoft Intune
Microsoft Intune
A Microsoft cloud-based management solution that offers mobile device management, mobile application management, and PC management capabilities.
4,718 questions
0 comments No comments
{count} votes

1 answer

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Crystal-MSFT 45,986 Reputation points Microsoft Vendor
    2024-06-28T01:22:24.68+00:00

    @Paul Thomas, Thanks for posting in Q&A. For wipe action, it restores a device to its factory default settings. it is mainly useful for resetting a device before you give the device to a new user. Wipe it not supported with Android Enterprise personally owned devices with a work profile. For delete action, it removes devices from the Intune admin center. Depending on the device platform, it may retire the Microsoft Entra device record / unjoin the device from Microsoft Entra ID.

    And for both wipe and delete on windows device, it is similar with Microsoft Entra Registered or Joined devices. For the company portal, whether it is removed, this depends on platform with delete action. For example, Android Enterprise work profile and macOS will delete company portal when you perform delete action. iOS, Windows will sign out company portal. You can see the details in the following link:

    https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/mem/intune/remote-actions/devices-wipe

    Hope the above information can help.


    If the answer is helpful, please click "Accept Answer" and kindly upvote it. If you have extra questions about this answer, please click "Comment".

    Note: Please follow the steps in our documentation to enable e-mail notifications if you want to receive the related email notification for this thread.