still can access onedrive after the user was deleted

Anonymous
2023-09-12T10:22:40+00:00

My question, what I can't answer is:

A user was deleted, but the access was given to someone else because he still had to save some files. Now the account is completely deleted, why can he still access the Onedrive?

Also another example, I was shared a folder 2 years ago. The user who shared the folder with me is already deleted for over a year. But I can still access the folder and the files, I go back a folder structure then comes the error message that the onedrive is no longer present. How does this happen?

Is this normal? Can this be changed so that the shared files are also deleted and any access is interrupted?

Microsoft 365 and Office | OneDrive | For business | Windows

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
Anonymous
2023-09-14T02:40:28+00:00

Dear anonym,

Based on your screenshot, it is the data retention setting for your current active user that you selected.

For the deleted user, suggest you raise a support ticket from the Office 365 admin center, where the related team will check the data retention setting. Reference: Get support - Microsoft 365 admin | Microsoft Learn

Note: To create a support ticket, you need to have admin privileges and if you aren’t admin of your Office 365 organization, please contact the admin of creating a new ticket.

Thanks for your patience and understanding. Have a good day!!

Best Regards,

Was this answer helpful?

1 person found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

2 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2023-09-12T13:39:04+00:00

    Hi,

    Thanks for your respond.

    But why can I still access the files and the 90 days are already over.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2023-09-12T11:35:03+00:00

    Dear anonym,

    Thank you for posting this question in Microsoft Community.

    Yes, it is normal

    After the OneDrive owner account deleted or unassigned license, The default data retention is 30 days. During this time, shared folder can still be accessed by you. At the end of the time, the OneDrive will be in a deleted state for 93 days and can only be restored by a Office 365 admin or SharePoint admin.

    But Office 365 admin can modify the default data retention from 30 days up to 3650 days for all usersin SharePoint admin center.

    Set the OneDrive retention for deleted users - SharePoint in Microsoft 365 | Microsoft Learn

    Or specific a user set retention from 30 days up to 3650 days

    Please note data retention must be equal or greater than 30days. Please check the picture below:

    For you situation, you could check your data retention setting in SharePoint admin center for all users, then modify the specific user's data retention setting if need.

    If you need any further assistance or any misunderstanding from our end, please feel free to post back to us.

    Thanks for your patience and understanding. Have a good day!!

    Best Regards,

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments