National clouds

National clouds are physically isolated instances of Azure. These regions of Azure are designed to make sure that data residency, sovereignty, and compliance requirements are honored within geographical boundaries.

Including the global Azure cloud, Microsoft Entra ID is deployed in the following national clouds:

The individual national clouds and the global Azure cloud are cloud instances. Each cloud instance is separate from the others and has its own environment and endpoints. Cloud-specific endpoints include OAuth 2.0 access token and OpenID Connect ID token request endpoints, and URLs for app management and deployment.

As you develop your apps, use the endpoints for the cloud instance where you'll deploy the application.

App registration endpoints

There's a separate Azure portal for each one of the national clouds. To integrate applications with the Microsoft identity platform in a national cloud, you're required to register your application separately in each Azure portal that's specific to the environment.


Users with a Microsoft Entra guest account from another national cloud can’t access Cost management + Billing features to manage EA enrollments. The following table lists the base URLs for the Microsoft Entra endpoints used to register an application for each national cloud.

National cloud Azure portal endpoint
Azure portal for US Government
Azure portal China operated by 21Vianet
Azure portal (global service)

Application endpoints

You can find the authentication endpoints for your application.

  1. Sign in to the Microsoft Entra admin center as at least an Cloud Application Administrator.

  2. Browse to Identity > Applications > App registrations.

  3. Select Endpoints in the top menu.

    The Endpoints page is displayed showing the authentication endpoints for the application.

    Use the endpoint that matches the authentication protocol you're using in conjunction with the Application (client) ID to craft the authentication request specific to your application.

Microsoft Entra authentication endpoints

All the national clouds authenticate users separately in each environment and have separate authentication endpoints.

The following table lists the base URLs for the Microsoft Entra endpoints used to acquire tokens for each national cloud.

National cloud Microsoft Entra authentication endpoint
Microsoft Entra ID for US Government
Microsoft Entra China operated by 21Vianet
Microsoft Entra ID (global service)

You can form requests to the Microsoft Entra authorization or token endpoints by using the appropriate region-specific base URL. For example, for global Azure:

  • Authorization common endpoint is
  • Token common endpoint is

For single-tenant applications, replace "common" in the previous URLs with your tenant ID or name. An example is

Azure Germany (Microsoft Cloud Deutschland)

If you haven't migrated your application from Azure Germany, follow Microsoft Entra information for the migration from Azure Germany to get started.

Microsoft Graph API

To learn how to call the Microsoft Graph APIs in a national cloud environment, go to Microsoft Graph in national cloud deployments.

Some services and features in the global Azure cloud might be unavailable in other cloud instances like the national clouds.

To find out which services and features are available in a given cloud instance, see Products available by region.

To learn how to build an application by using the Microsoft identity platform, follow the Single-page application (SPA) using auth code flow tutorial. Specifically, this app will sign in a user and get an access token to call the Microsoft Graph API.

Next steps

Learn how to use the Microsoft Authentication Library (MSAL) in a national cloud environment.

National cloud documentation: