FAQs for deleting user data

A Microsoft Viva Glint administrator can delete user data from the platform in such a manner that complies with Microsoft standards.

Q: When will user records be deleted from Viva Glint?
A: When Viva Glint receives the delete signal from a Data Subject Request (DSR) or Microsoft Entra ID for a user, they're not immediately deleted. A user's employee record is in a soft-deleted state in accordance with Microsoft's data handling standards. During this period, the employee record may be modified from its soft-deleted state and updated to the status provided in the Human Resource Information System (HRIS) file per the client's User Data control setting at Disregard Employee IDs of previously deleted employees. After this period, all data related to the employee is permanently deleted in alignment with the client's User Data control settings at Retain survey responses and identifiable data for deleted users.

Note

Processing of delete signals from Microsoft Entra in Viva Glint is paused until September 30, 2026. In the meantime, If you would like to manually delete any user data from Viva Glint, please follow the instructions here: Responding to Data Subject Requests (DSRs) in Viva Glint.

Q: What does “all data related to the requester” mean?
A: This phrase refers to the user's first name, last name, employee ID, email address, and personal email address (if used) associated with survey responses and reporting.

Q: What is the impact of setting Retain survey responses and identifiable data for deleted users as "On" in User Data control in General Settings?
A: This setting retains the User's first name, last name, employee ID, email address and personal email (if used) associated with survey responses and reporting. The User's other attributes and survey responses are retained. User's profile is marked as deleted and not searchable as part of Active or Inactive user lists. When a user is deleted from Glint, they are removed from distribution lists and future surveys.

Q: What is the impact of setting Retain survey responses and identifiable data for deleted users as "Off" in User Data control in General Settings?
A: This option corresponds to Retain survey responses and identifiable data for deleted users user data control in General Settings. If this setting is Off, it deletes the user's survey responses, first name, last name, employee ID, email address and personal email (if used) associated with those survey responses and reporting. User's profile is marked as deleted and not searchable as part of Active or Inactive user lists. When a user is deleted from Glint, they are removed from distribution lists and future surveys. The user’s role definitions and their reporting permissions are removed. If the user has direct reports, their reports are assigned to a placeholder name, which can be updated later.

Q: Is there an option to deidentify deleted user's identifiable information while retaining their survey responses?
A: No, starting September 1, 2026 we only offer the ability for customers to either retain all survey responses and identifiable data for deleted users, including first and last name, email address and employee ID or erase all data related to the requester, including survey responses.

Q: What will happen to my user data when Viva Glint restarts the processing of live delete signals received from Microsoft Entra?
A: Processing of delete signals from Microsoft Entra in Viva Glint is paused until September 30, 2026. Starting October 1, 2026, we will start processing these live signals once again. All data related to the employee is permanently deleted in alignment with the client's User Data control settings at Retain survey responses and identifiable data for deleted users. We will also be processing the historical delete signals received from Microsoft Entra for the period June 2025 - September 2026 following the same user data control settings. During historical signal processing, user records will not be deleted if hierarchy changes were detected that caused user statuses to be modified. Review the list of active and inactive users to identify any users who should have a Deleted status but have not yet been deleted. After the feature is released, contact Microsoft and request a copy of the list of users marked as Deleted through Microsoft Entra.